GEORGIA
Criminal Defense Lawyers
 
 
Thank you for visiting my website. I am no longer taking new clients.

The information on this site was last updated July 5, 2017 and might not reflect the most recent changes to criminal law.

Please feel free to browse the site. Keep in mind that this is for educational purposes only and is not legal advice.

 

QUESTIONNAIRE :: HOME :: ABOUT US ::     

 


TRAFFIC OFFENSES &
POINTS IN GA
 


If you are under 18 years of age, an accumulation of 4 or more points within a twelve month period will result in a suspension of your Georgia driver's license for at least six months.

If you are 18 but under 21, any violation of 4 or more points will result in a license suspension for at least six months.

If you are 21 or older and accumulate 15 or more points in any consecutive 24 month period, your license will be suspended for one year. Early reinstatement is possible if certain conditions are met.

VIOLATIONS WITH 4 OR MORE POINTS ARE IN RED

Aggressive driving............................................................... 6 points

Reckless driving.................................................................. 4 points

Unlawful passing of a school bus ....................................... 6 points

Improper passing on a hill or a curve................................... 4 points


Speeding by more than 14 less than 19 mph ......................... 2 points

Speeding by 19 but less than 24 mph ................................... 3 points

Speeding by 24 but less than 34 mph ................................... 4 points

Speeding by 34 mph or more ............................................... 6 points

Disobey traffic-control device or traffic officer .................. 3 points

Too fast for conditions ......................................................... 0 points

Possessing an open container of an alcoholic beverage ....... 2 points

Failure to secure a load which results in an accident .......... 2 points

Child safety restraint, first offense ....................................... 1 point

Child safety restraint requirements, second or more ............. 2 points
 

A DUI has no points. It is a license suspension violation.

Quick Link to our online questionnaire.

 Back    Next     
 

 

Georgia Defenders Logo SM, J. Michael Mullis, Attorney at Law
Content J. Michael Mullis, Attorney at Law